This page describes how to update a delivery pipeline that's already in use.

## Change a delivery pipeline

To change your delivery pipeline consists of the following steps:

1. Edit the [delivery-pipeline definition](https://docs.cloud.google.com/deploy/docs/config-files).

2. Re-register the delivery pipeline:

       gcloud deploy apply --file=PIPELINE_CONFIG

   Where <var label="config" translate="no">PIPELINE_CONFIG</var> is the delivery
   pipeline configuration file that you just edited.

## Results

You might not see the results you expect, because of how
Cloud Deploy treats the relationship between pipelines and targets
and the releases they manage.

Each `release` and `rollout` resource is permanently associated with the
pipeline as it was defined when the `release` was created. If you change a
delivery pipeline configuration (including target definitions) after a release
is created, that release is now mismatched from the definitions.

Preserving resources in this way ensures they function consistently across the
targets and they're not disrupted by configuration changes. However this
behavior might not be what you intend, in which case you can create a new
release to deploy using the updated pipeline.

Cloud Deploy
returns warnings if there's such a mismatch and you try to perform certain
actions, such as promote the release.

For more information, see [Pipeline instances per release](https://docs.cloud.google.com/deploy/docs/pipeline-instances).

## What's next

- Find out how to [view delivery pipelines](https://docs.cloud.google.com/deploy/docs/view-pipeline)
  that are already in use.

- Learn how to [suspend a delivery pipeline](https://docs.cloud.google.com/deploy/docs/suspend-pipeline).

- Find out how to [delete a delivery pipeline](https://docs.cloud.google.com/deploy/docs/delete-pipeline).

- Learn how to [use service notifications](https://docs.cloud.google.com/deploy/docs/subscribe-deploy-notifications)